Love, Dopamine and Wiki- various faces of love

Love is an emotion. Love is poetry. Love is luck. Love is destiny. Love is a chemical reaction. Love is a perception based human emotion. Love is an urge to feel relevant.

As per Wiki, “Neuroscience has indicated that as people fall in love, the brain consistently releases a certain set of chemicals, including dopamine, stimulating the brain’s pleasure center and leading to side effects such as increased heart rate, loss of appetite and sleep, and an intense feeling of excitement”.

In simple words, feeling of being in love releases chemicals in your body that inspire Hindi song lyrics such as, ” Mujhe neend na aaye, mujhe chain na aaye, koi jaaye zara dhoond ke laye, na jaana kahan dil kho gaya” . Translation,” I can’t sleep, I am not at peace, Please someone go and look for it, Don’t know where I have lost my heart”. 🙂

As per Wiki, “Psychology says love has three different components: intimacy, commitment, and passion”.

So as a Psychology student, let me present my take on this. Intimacy is likeness or fondness for someone, can be for someone special or a friend. Commitment is a long-term relationship, again can be a friendship or a love relationship. The last and most important is sexual attraction and passion. All forms of love are viewed as varying combinations of these three components. As per wiki,” Infatuated love only includes passion. Empty love only includes commitment. Romantic love includes both intimacy and passion. Companionate love includes intimacy and commitment. Fatuous love includes passion and commitment. Lastly, consummate love includes all three”. So basically, love is a human desire to relate to another person at a deeper level to feel comfortable about one’s existence.

As per Rumi, a 13th century Persian poet,” Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere. They are in each other all along”.

As per the writer of this post who does not have a Wiki reference (yet), Love is like the moon, transforming itself everyday yet essential at night to feel safe . I don’t know if you all look for moon every night because I do. Sometimes, the clouds overshadow the moon or the night swallows it into its intense darkness and I am not able to feel its presence. But then there are days, when it shines so brightly on my terrace, that I experience an invigorating flow of passion in its sheer silver radiance. I feel this heavenly crusader of  romance has only one expectation from me. It wants me to keep searching for it every night. I keep the faith that it is still up there somewhere ready to share its brightness with me.

What does love mean to you?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some more dopamine for you:

Loving You

10 life lessons my husband taught me

Happy Anniversary Hubby!

 

 

13 thoughts on “Love, Dopamine and Wiki- various faces of love

  1. love to me is trust, loyalty and friendship. straight and simple. Its not about birthdays anniversaries festivals and gifts. Its about hanging around when no one else does. When you are sick. In good and bad. Love is not only sticking with a person when they are right but to slap them when they are wrong. enjoyed reading your post 🙂

    Like

    • Wow this is my kind of love!!

      I wish we all understand that commitment is another form of love. Love is not romance, flowers and gifts. Love is strength, positive energy, peace, growth, improvement…love is so much more than just a mushy warm feeling…

      Like

  2. I believe in free love after going through the painful break up. I also believe that one need to look beyond the realm of sex to feel true love and for that, we should recognize sex is an integral part of life, no point repressing sex as an emotion cum positive energy.
    The first few lines spelled out by you sums love in its purest form.

    Like

  3. something to think about for sure .. what is love .. well I can safely say that I am the last person to comment on it , I have had love, I have given love and I have lost love, I have been hated, I am hated , I have hated and I do hate tooo 🙂

    and I liked ur reply above , I also feel that you can fall in love without fantasising about sex.. because just sex can be bought, but love cant be bought..
    also there comes a stage in life where sex is not important, at all .. its more of a company that one seeks for ..

    now that i re-read my comment it does not make sense .. I am in a weird place today i think..

    Like

    • We all have been through different stages of love and hate, at times these two strong emotions collide and create chaos.. We all should just keep the faith and keep exploring till you find your moon…

      Physical relationship is a part of being in love as it is a physical expression of the feeling love..there are many other elements to love like you said- companionship, friendship, support, care, forgiveness.. But guess these are not sensational enough to be covered by media…

      Like

  4. Is it possible, in your opinion, to love someone without fantasizing about sex. I have always kept sex and love separate. Somehow, I am unable to picture myself getting physically intimate with the one whom i mentally love :O 🙂

    Like

Make my day!! Please share your thoughts here

